Acceptance

2 03 2012

Acceptance

This little baby arrived after a very difficult birth the evening of March 1. I found her lodged in the birth canal, partially expelled and unresponsive when I returned home from work. We had no idea how long the nanny and babe had been like this. I thought all was lost for the baby. After seperating the nanny from the rest of the herd, I tugged and tugged and tugged on her her hooves. After about 30 minutes of work she was free. The baby hit the ground limp and unresponsive. The nanny ran for the feeding area. I went the house to prepare to dispose of the baby.

When I returned to the goat hut I found the baby doe in the corner of the shed, looking healthy, crying for her nanny and cuddled up with the chickens to keep warm. What a wonderful suprise! She is healthy and spirited.

We let the nanny have a couple of hours to bond with the babe, but she refused the baby. We are now bottle feeding with great success.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment